Reminiscing Monday #1: Fangirl

Hello there, everybody and welcome to this new addition of the blog! in this ‘section’ I’ll be talking about Books, Shows and Movies i’ve read/seen a while ago but because of reasons i haven’t talked about them in the blog before.

Here i’ll review mostly from the feelings and impressions these left in me back in the day and what i can remember to this day.

Hope you enjoy it!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Back on January of 2015 i decided on reading this book. I knew many people liked it but i wasn’t sure what to expect, mostly because so many books are overhyped, one can never know which books are really worth the hype.

Anyway, i decided on reading it because i see myself as a fangirl and i thought i may like it. In the end i didn’t just like the book, i loved it so much, it quickly became one of my favorites of all time.

I really enjoy the way Rainbow Rowell writes, there’s something on the words she chooses that easies you into the story, i got very attached to Cath rather quick, and found myself in her in such a way it was uncanny.

The book took me to the times i tried to study in College (oh, the failure), the people i met and how i felt so different from the others because of the stuff i enjoy. Cath is a character that can speak to many readers. I think she is the character that most reminds me myself in literature.

The story of the book is a coming-of-age, nothing much ‘special’ hapens in the book, but the characters a the feeling of reality in the book made me love it completely.

At times i really wondered if a guy like Levi would really fall for a girl like Cath, and him wanting to listen to her slash fanfiction was a little weird on its own… I’ve never met any guy that showed interest on that, but let’s say i haven’t met the most open minded guys in my life, but hey… i rolled with it.

I enjoyed the little pieces of fanfiction that were intertwine with the main story and it really made me want to read Simon Snow and Carry On (the one wrote by Cath and the one actually wrote by Rainbow…i think they aren’t suppose to be the same ….??).

I remember being very eager to get home from work while reading it, because i really wanted to know what happened next.

The end was very satisfactory, i enjoyed it to the very last moment, and it made me tear up a little… I still smile whenever i see the book in my shelf, because i love it so much.

Overall, i love this book way too much and i’m very thankful to it, if it wasn’t for this book i wouldn’t have known about the wonders of Rainbow’s writing… after all, because i enjoyed this book i read; Eleanor&Park (another favorite), Carry On and Kindred Spirits. … I’m still working my way towards her other two books … i own Attachments, but i haven’t found the right time for it…

I’ve been wanting to buy the special collectors edition for a while now, it looks so freaking cool! And i’m scared it may be descontinued  at some point without me buying it, but whenever i’m about to purchase it i remember there are a lot of other books i want to buy that i don’t own already and buying it feels a  little wasteful, but at the same time is one of my favorites, and most of my favorites i own more than one copy of … argh! i have no idea what to do .. The book means a lot, maybe i should really buy it… this month my ban is over (yet again) and i can allow myself to go a little wild.. it was my birthday (in March) and all … I may do something crazy …

And… that’s all for now! hope you’re all okay!

‘Til Next Time 😉

C.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

