December´s most anticipated books.

Anther month, another opportunity to get new books! So, here are some of the new releases of December! Enjoy!!!

The Cousins

THE COUSINS BY KAREN M. McMANUS

Release date: December 1st

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying comes your next obsession. You’ll never feel the same about family again.

Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each another, and they’ve never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were born. So when they each receive a letter inviting them to work at her island resort for the summer, they’re surprised . . . and curious.

Their parents are all clear on one point–not going is not an option. This could be the opportunity to get back into Grandmother’s good graces. But when the cousins arrive on the island, it’s immediately clear that she has different plans for them. And the longer they stay, the more they realize how mysterious–and dark–their family’s past is.

The entire Story family has secrets. Whatever pulled them apart years ago isn’t over–and this summer, the cousins will learn everything.

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre

THE LOVE CURSE OF MELODY McINTYRE BY ROBIN TALLEY

Release date: December 1st

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this #ownvoices romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.

What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.

Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play’s success as Mel.

Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love. 

This is How We Fly

THIS IS HOW WE FLY BY ANNA MERIANO

Release date: December 15th

A loose retelling of Cinderella, about a high-school graduate who–after getting grounded for the whole summer–joins a local Quidditch league and finds her footing, perfect for fans of Dumplin’Fangirl, and everyone who’s read and adored Harry Potter.

17-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window.

Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn’t quite what Ellen expects. There’s no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports: her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans.

Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs.

But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control–Ellen must fight for the future that she wants, now she’s playing for keeps.

Music From Another World by Robin Talley

Music from Another WorldMUSIC FROM ANOTHER WORLD BY ROBIN TALLEY

Genre: Young Adult, lgbt, historical
Pages: 384
Publisher: Inkyard Pres
Rating: 4.5 stars

Summary: It’s summer 1977 and closeted lesbian Tammy Larson can’t be herself anywhere. Not at her strict Christian high school, not at her conservative Orange County church and certainly not at home, where her ultrareligious aunt relentlessly organizes antigay political campaigns. Tammy’s only outlet is writing secret letters in her diary to gay civil rights activist Harvey Milk…until she’s matched with a real-life pen pal who changes everything.

Sharon Hawkins bonds with Tammy over punk music and carefully shared secrets, and soon their letters become the one place she can be honest. The rest of her life in San Francisco is full of lies. The kind she tells for others—like helping her gay brother hide the truth from their mom—and the kind she tells herself. But as antigay fervor in America reaches a frightening new pitch, Sharon and Tammy must rely on their long-distance friendship to discover their deeply personal truths, what they’ll stand for…and who they’ll rise against.

31.10.2020 10.25.49 296 1460056115.jpg

First of all i gotta say that i recieved an arc of this book in exchange of my honest opinion.

When i asked to read an arc of this book i thought it sounded very interesting. As i started it though, i found it, at first a little difficult to follow and to enjoy. But i’m glad i ive it a second chance because it ended being one of the best books i’ve read in quite a while.

The story of the two girls it’s interesting. We get to know them both as they write to “diaries” (actually one writes letter to Harvey Milk, as her imaginary friend) and also as they write to each other.

The letters start fine, but i never had a penpal to know if you can build a trust so fast and without talking about much personal stuff.

But even so, there’s a point in which the book just exploded for me, and it became so interesting i just couldn’t put it down until i finished it. The writing felt right and heartful, the characters felt real, more than cartoonish premade characters which i find a lot lately and it was nicely delivered.

I think the time the book is set on is wisely used, and i enjoyed knowing more about the time. LAst year i read another book set about the same time “We Are Lost And Found” and it was nicely done too (Maybe i should write about it too). 

Anyway, the story that develops between these two girls is so wonderful, i loved every second their (when looking back at the book) and would totally enjoy if again if i reread it (which i probably will).

I’m sure i’ll be checking more books by the author because i totally loved what she did with this story.

So do i recommend it? Of course i do,  i enjoyed it so much. I think this is a story that is worth being told. The author did an amazing job and i think many many people would enjoy the book.

Overall, a great reading, you just need to give it a minute.