Clean Getaway by Nic Stone

Clean Getaway

CLEAN GETAWAY BY NIC STONE

Genre: MG, Contemporary, Adventure
Pages: 240
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Rating: 4.05 stars (Goodreads)

Summary: From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
* Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
* Fasten Your Seatbelt: G’ma’s never conventional, so this trip won’t be either.
* Use the Green Book: G’ma’s most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and, most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
* A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G’ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover the world hasn’t always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren’t always what they seem–his G’ma included.

William is taken by her G’ma for a trip of a life time in which she will not only teach him about segregation in the South of the US, but also will tell him a lot of stuff he didn’t know about herself and his family. G’ma may not be in her best moment but she tell hims such important things he didn’t know he just goes with her. (not a kidnapping though). This is a trip in which William will learn about himself, his father, their roots and their ancestry.

Nic does it again. She brings a great story, and one with which she teaches us a lot about US history. Not the big stuff we always hear about though, but little details we would’ve never thought about. With the character of G’ma Nic presents to William and the readers interesting and important facts about the segregation and how it went down in the times when interracial couples were looked upon.

The story is simple, a grandmother takes her granchild for a trip she never could do with his father because “those were different times” and also because she had so many things she couldn’t tell to her son.

As the story progresses we learn a lot about a grandmother who had a lot to say but never could, becuase of fear and regret.

The characters of the story are mainly William and his G’ma. Both of them are very interesting. I enjoyed very much the way they intereacted with each other, how grown up was William knowing that something wasn’t okay with his G’ma and how interesting she was, how she had her secrets and how she starts to open up to her grandson.

This is a story about family and American history.

I think the author really nailed it bringing those two topics together. The book is easy to read, clear and one you will remember because of the little details it teaches you.

I would recommend it to young readers especially, since it is a Middle Grade book, and a great one at it.

Nic Stone brings to life a great story, one that needed to be told, a unique story that will stay in my mind and my heart for a long time.

I give the book 4 stars and recommend it for every kid out there and adults too, because, why not?

Did you read the book? What did you think about it? Leave your comment down below!

4 thoughts on “Clean Getaway by Nic Stone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s