WHAT BIG TEETH By Rose Szabo

What Big Teeth

WHAT BIG TEETH BY ROSE SZABO

Genre: YA, Horror, Fantasy
Pages: 394
Publisher: FSG
Rating: 3.71 stars (goodreads)

Summary: Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together — in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

After an incident at the boarding school Eleanor lives in she decides to come home to a family she hasn’t seen in years. She knows the basics about her family and their secret (they can become wolves) *not a spoiler*. When she comes back home her family doesn’t seem to care much but after a while she finds herself trying to keep them together and saving them from a major problem. Is she like them or is her darkness even worse? Can she save her family?

I absolutely loved this book. It has this atmosphere that reminded me of We Have Always Lived In The Castle. The story is dark and criptic. You can’t understand everyting that is happening from the very beginning. And you may find it hard to follow at times. But the story is delicious.

We know as much as Eleanor, the main character, does, about her family and we learn about them from her point of view, which leave a lot of place for speculation as you read it.

The story is dark and fascinating.

I loved the fact that this isn’t a love story, this is the story about a family and their problems, their supernatural problems.

I really enjoyed the way it was written and Eleanor herself, she is a great protagonist with flaws and not a know it all. She makes mistakes and she needs to mend them before its too late for her and her family.

I don’t really want to give anything away on this book because it is so different and unexpected. I think you should just give it a try if the summary seems interesting to you.

Overall, an unexpected gem i’m fascinated by.

I gave it 5 stars, because it kept me guessing what will happen next all along which was awesome and refreshing.

Totally recommend it, especially if you liked We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson.

Have you read the book? Do you enjoy gothic settings? Leave your comment down below!

Happy readings!

5 thoughts on “WHAT BIG TEETH By Rose Szabo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s