May is Mental Health Awareness Month

I know it’s been a really long time since i wrote something for the blog, and to be completely honest it’s all Skam’s fault.  In case you don’t know what Skam is… well, it’s THE TV SHOW… i’ll be posting about it sometime soon… or at least i hope.

Anyway, this month is Mental Health Awareness Month.

As a person battling mental illness since i was 16 (though i’m pretty sure it started before, but i was diagnosed at 16) i believe it’s part of my ‘job’ to talk about this topic. Obviously relating this to books, since my blog is about books and literature, but not only that.

I was hoping you could give me your opinion on what would you want to read about relating to mental health, i have a lot to say about it, but i don’t wanna just throw all of that to you.

Obviously, this month i have a tbr just consisting of books that feature mentally ill characters, which i hope will make the cut and become reviews.  I’ll be posting the

I’ll be posting the tbr later in the week. I want to talk about mentally ill characters and their representation on books and tv shows. I’ll be giving some book recommendations and i may talk about books that didn’t work out for me. Maybe,  if you want me to also recommend some movies or just talk about own experiences, or if you want to share your on experience with mental illness… i’m open to all ideas right now.

I truly see this month as an opportunity to make a change in how people see and think about mental illness. I think it’s our job to make the difference, to speak up about the issue and not be afraid to say ‘yeah, i suffer from…’ (in my case depression and avoidant personality disorder).

So yes, i’m open to ideas and any recommendations really at the moment.

I hope we can make the best of this month.

‘Til next time!

firma

 

 

Some previous posts i made on the topic of mental illness:

Mental Illness & Literature.

#Life With A Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

