Wrapping Up 2016

Hi, i would like to start this post remembering my step-granddad who passed away a month ago. I have to admit i didn’t know him extremely well, but his demise made me put things on proportion because one day he was feeling a little under the weather and a month and a half later he was just gone.

RIP Cholo.

Now, i do know all the stuff i’m going to talk about doesn’t really seem to go with what i just said, but it is how i felt this year and until that very moment.

2016 is over, and thank god for that, because it was a very horrible year all over the place and every thought i have is about wrapping up this lame excuse of a year so i can finally get over with it for good. Sure, there were really great things, or at least i hope others enjoyed their year. In my case, this 2016 was pretty much chaos.

The Good

I traveled twice to Greece and though the cruise wasn’t what i did expect i enjoyed it pretty much. I traveled with my family and being in the open sea was one of the most amazing things that i’ve seen.

I finally got a new job. This time it’s a good one, a keeper and i hope i get to stay there until retirement, or until the light goes out, whichever comes first.

I read more than i expected, counting the fact that i was in a great slump, why am i saying i was? i’m still in it. But i managed to read some books anyway.

I’m doing my best to stop bitting my nails. It worked for a while, now it’s getting really difficult again.

I got help, i was very down lately (the past few months) but now i’m on treatment and i hope it will get much better soon. My doctor says i’m already doing great. She might be a little more right that i think.

I got to watch Rogue One the day it premiered where i live.

The Bad

Last year i made a list with a lot of resolutions, by the time i did that i didn’t realize i was just putting a lot of pressure on myself. I’m a very messy person, and putting on myself goals or rules that are strict and won’t let me breath is a very bad idea. Sure, it worked for a while, until i crashed under the pressure i was feeling in my life and couldn’t do anything anymore.

So, i crashed really bad, and thou i thought i was pulling myself out of the deep waters i was in it was just taking a breath out of them before sinking again, each time deeper. That’s basically the reason why i didn’t write much lately, i had to take care of my health before i could do anything.

The Ugly

To add to all the problems i was already having, my sister got sick and it took a lot of time to discover what was the illness. All my family and I were really worried because the symptoms were similar to cancer. Luckily, it is not. Apparently, she has an ulcer, but it’s treatable and that’s the important thing. Another one sick is my dog, who has similar symptoms to what my sister has.

Now, i knew last year was too great of a year and it would be a difficult one to surpass but i wasn’t expecting so many problems at home. Like, all three of us (i live with my sister) were having some problem at the same time, and having to take care of two sick persons while having a depressive episode is exhausting.

Look, i’m not saying there weren’t good moments, i do realize my life is pretty easy compared to other s’s and i’m truly thankful for all i had and have this year. The thing i’m trying to say really is i hope 2017 will get a little easier not only for me but for everyone.

I guess i won’t keep complaining.

I’ll just keep looking forward, hoping next year a little less intense than this one, and with great books as company.

 

One thought on “Wrapping Up 2016

Leave a Reply

