Reminiscing Monday #13: Glee

Monday’s here, which means i’m bringing you once again this section, where i talk about Books, Shows and Movies i’ve read/seen a while ago but because of reasons i haven’t talked about them in the blog before.

Here i’ll review mostly from the feelings and impressions these left in me back in the day and what i can remember to this day.

GLEE

Glee poster Oh Wow, this is bringing back a lot of memories already.

So, back in 2009 all i would watch was Anime. Well, that was until the very day i discovered this awkward, funny, full of music and heart tv show where, get this, actual people played! (XD).

I don’t remember why exactly i decided on giving the show a chance, but i did and by the second episode i was hooked. Glee became at the time my everything, i would watch it 24/7, like each and every free moment i would watch it and rewatch and rewatch …

I loved the music, the characters, the fact that the show was full of color. There was something i was truly needing at the moment, Glee changed my life.

I started singing at random moments and was feeling pretty happy with life, maybe because of all the music in the show, maybe because i saw myself in the outcasted characters…. i don’t know, everything seemed perfect to me.

I watched the first four seasons a million times each… at the time i also was so obsessed with it, i’d buy everything Glee related. To this day i own the first four seasons, all the CDs they released, even the *special ones*; Madonna, Christmas, The Warblers, you name it… i bought some weird books that were published, i had[have] posters, magazines …. whatever there was to be purchased i owned, well… for some reason i never bought any shirts …but everything else i had.

Glee was more than a show i loved, i was completely obsessed with it… so much, i think i couldn’t talk about anything else for quite some time.. i’m so sorry to the people that had to deal with me every day at that point in my life.

Well, as i already *admitted*, Glee was my life for four, five years… man, even now, if i think about glee i cannot truly express it with words all i have in my mind is GLEE GLEE GLEE GLEE GLEE GLEE… like, not even some coherent sentences.

Yes, i did mention i was a fan for four/five years and there’s a reason.

I was a huge fan of Glee (obviously…) when Cory Monteith died.

His character was never my favorite, but i really liked him as an actor, and when he passed away something broke within me. I mourned his death for months and when Glee came back after i just, i couldn’t watch it knowing that he wasn’t coming back.  Yes, there was a special episode commemorating him, and to tell you the truth, that was the last episode of Glee i ever watched.

Many times i thought of watching the last two seasons, since i knew some stuff went on with my OTP (at the time), Klaine, especially in the last season…. but i felt like it was betraying Cory.  Like, without him it wasn’t truly Glee. There wasn’t any GLEE.

At times i still think of binge watching it all, but since then so much happened… i don’t know if i’ll ever get to actually do it.

Even now, when i can see the flaws in the show since i’m not the blind superfan i used to be anymore, i hold the show in a very special place in my heart… Glee brought me back to life when i was really down, i still listen to the songs they covered because those people are extremely talented.

I still check on what the different actors are doing, what’s going on with their careers… even thought the only one i’m watching in another TV show currently is Harry Shum Jr. in Shadowhunters… but about that show, i’ll talk in another post… no wait, i watched Scream Queens too…

Anyway, Glee was and may still be a great part of my life, even if at times i feel ashamed i was so obsessed! And i think it’s a good thing to actually put in on the table.. i don’t know maybe i’m just rambling.

‘Til Next Time 😉

firma

 

 

Leave a Reply

