T5W: Favorite Character Names

As always, topics for these entries are taken from the Top 5 Wednesday group on Goodreads . The group was created  Lainey. Now the group is under Samantha’s moderation, you can find her here.

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

So, for this one i tried to find names that i love because of the name more than just because i love the character who has it… (otherwise it would all had been GABRIEL GABRIEL GABRIEL GABRIEL and Adam).

  • Adam from The Raven Cycle.

The meaning of the name isThe Hebrew word for “man”. It could be ultimately derived from Hebrew אדם (‘adam) meaning “to be red”, referring to the ruddy colour of human skin, or from Akkadian adamu meaning “to make”.

This is my absolute favorite name ever. Most of my stuff is called Adam, i don’t know why, like this name obsesses me a lot. I’m not kidding in all my ideas for stories the main charactet is always an Adam, then while really thinking about it i mosty change the name since i cannot have all my maipn characters named the same but you can get the idea.

  • Penryn from Penryn And The End Of Days.

The meaning of the name is: Penryn is a Cornish word meaning ‘headland’.

Since i started reading these books i cannot take the name away from my mind. Like seriously, i always enjoy my weird and unique names and this one is particularly amazing.

  • Minnow from The Sacred Lies Of Minnow Bly.

The meaning of the name is:  a very small fish found in lakes and rivers

Whomever thought of using this one as a name for a person.., my congratulations. Like honestly, though it feels like a very particular name that not everyone could put up with, i simply adore it.

Argh! I feel like i’m going to repeat myself a lot, but it’s just that all these names obsess me so much, i could tattoo them on my arms or something.

  • Seth from More Than This.

 In Hebrew the meaning of the name is: Anointed; compensation. Seth was the third son of Adam and Eve. Eve considered him to be a replacement for her dead son, Abel.

In Biblical the meaning of the name is: Put, who puts, fixed.

In Egyptian the meaning of the name is: The god of deserts, storms, disorder, violence and foreingers.

Must be because of the meanings the name has, but i find this name to be so powerful, i love it. There isn’t much to say about it, i’m fascinated by Egyptian mythology and Seth is a very interesting god in my opinion.. I think that’s why i love the name so much.

  • Sophie/Sophia from My Name Is Memory.

The meaning of the name is:  “Wisdom” in Greek. This was the name of an early, probably mythical, saint who died of grief after her three daughters were martyred. Legends about her probably arose as a result of a medieval misunderstanding of the phrase Hagia Sophia “Holy Wisdom”, which was the name of a large basilica in Constantinople.

Aahmmm, don’t know. Whenever i hear the name i just imagine this adorable little girl with a lot of books sitting in a huge library and that’s a feeling i get when i’m in libraries, like i’m a little girl again and it makes me happy, so having that image when hearing the name makes me happy too, i guess.

Well guys, those are my favorite character names, now i invite you to share yours! Leave your comments and links to your posts in the comments section!

‘Til Next Time 😉

clems.

Leave a Reply

