T5W: Book Theme Songs

As always, topics for these entries are taken from the Top 5 Wednesday group on Goodreads . The group was created  Lainey. Now the group is under Samantha’s moderation, you can find her here.

Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

So, this one was a difficult one for me, mostly because i don’t listen to that much music and i don’t relate it much to the books i read, unless something really sad happens and then i do, but since i didn’t want to spoil deaths and such to others, i decided on finding a different kind of songs…

My Name Is Memory – Hello by Lionel Richie

I’ve been alone
With you inside my mind
And in my dreams, I’ve kissed your lips
A thousand time
I sometimes see you pass
Outsider my door

Hello
Is it me you’re looking for ?
I can see it in your eyes
I can see it in your smile
You’re all I’ve ever wanted
And my arms are open wide
Cause you know just what to say
And you know just what to do
And I want to tell you so much
I love you

I really feel the loneliness of this song, and it fits perfectly to how Daniel feels through the book, always by himself, always loving the same girl, always looking for her and hoping she may remember him or want him in any way.

 

All The Bright Places – Lucky For You by Espen Lind

Lucky for me
you’re amazing
you made me see
sparks come blazing
i was lucky to be
made to feel like i had been loved.

I don’treally want to comment on this one, so i’ll just say that this song always makes me think about the song in the book…it’s so lovely to be lovely… Nope, i still can’t.

Highly Illogical Behavior – World Behind My Wall

Whoa, whoa
They’re telling me it’s beautiful
I believe them but will I ever know
The world behind my wall?

Whoa, whoa
The sun will shine like never before
One day I will be ready to go
See the world behind my wall.

There was something about the book that reminded me of the song when i listened to it. Both talk about wanting to do something, yet not being sure if they can do it. Still the wanting is there, pushing to come through.

A Monster Calls – The Show Must Go On

I guess i’m learning, i must be warmer now
i’ll soon be turning, round the corner now
outside the dawn breaking
but inside in the dark i’m aching to be free
the show must go on
the show must go on
inside my heart is breaking
my make-up may be flaking
but my smile still stays on.

There isn’t much to say about it, i think as much as the book the song is about coming on terms with what’s about to happen…

The Catcher In The Rye – Bad Reputation by Joan Jett

I don’t give a damn ’bout my reputation 

You’re living in the past it’s a new generation
A girl can do what she wants to do and that’s
What I’m gonna do
An’ I don’t give a damn ‘ bout my bad reputation.

Haha, this one… i didn’t know what else to choose.. i was running out of ideas of songs and books to relate one another, so i went for the easy choice… this song always reminded me of the Holden’s mindset, so i guess it just works.

 

And that’s the end of another Top 5 Wednesday…

Do you give theme songs to the books you read? to all of them or only the special ones? … Where do you find the songs to do so? Share your answers in the comments section! I’ll be really happy to know about your experiences 🙂

Have a great day! ‘Til Next Time 😉

firma

2 thoughts on “T5W: Book Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

