The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

The Bunker Diary The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Survival
Pages: 268
Publisher: Penguin
Rating: 4 stars

Summary: Room meets Lord of the Flies, The Bunker Diary is award-winning, young adult writer Kevin Brooks’s pulse-pounding exploration of what happens when your worst nightmare comes true – and how will you survive?

I can’t believe I fell for it.

It was still dark when I woke up this morning.

As soon as my eyes opened I knew where I was.

A low-ceilinged rectangular building made entirely of whitewashed concrete.

There are six little rooms along the main corridor.

There are no windows. No doors. The lift is the only way in or out.

What’s he going to do to me?

What am I going to do?

If I’m right, the lift will come down in five minutes.

It did. Only this time it wasn’t empty . . .

(summary taken from Goodreads)

My Opinion On The Book:

I really have no words to describe this book, it was so intense… It’s been a while since i read such a book, so it makes it even more special. I wish more people would read this book. I haven’t seen many people talking about it, actually i just saw one booktuber, JosuDiamond (Spanish Booktuber – LibrosPorLeer), my favorite booktuber *0* .. Okay, so he talked about it once or twice and it looked pretty awesome, so i gave it a chance, i hope some others do too :).

The idea it’s pretty forward, a teenager writes in a diary everything that happens since he woke up in a closed place, a bunker. He doesn’t know who kidnapped him, he just knows he is there and after a while other people begin to appear in the bunker. In total, there will be six people in the bunker, six people that don’t know where they really are and why are they there.

I enjoy the idea of the plot, you can see all the stuff that happen when six strangers share a closed place, and how difficult it may be, the sharing of food, the not liking some of them, the attempts of escaping… Since we don’t know why they are there, it becomes

Since we don’t know why they are there, all the time i had this frustrating feeling that kept me in the edge of my seat all the time… the book is pretty intense in some moments, and a little dull in other, but it gives a claustrophobic feeling all the time that makes it an vivid reading.

About the characters, to be honest there isn’t much character development. We don’t really get to know much about the other five people in the bunker, only the narrator, and of him we only know what’s going now at the moment and in the past…he doesn’t change… none of them does.

Anyway, the story gets very engaging pretty fast, after a few pages i just couldn’t stop reading.

Something i saw that people didn’t like, and i can say that i understand why it’s the ending, i tell this now… the story is great, but you may find the ending a little unsatisfactory…. in my opinion it could have been different, but it ended pretty well, if i was the one writing the book i would have ended it pretty much the same way.

I do recommend it, a lot. Mostly because it’s such a breath from all those books that have the same plot, this one is so different from the regular Young Adult books, it’s so refreshing, … really, just give it a try.. it’s great.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

  1. I can totally relate to this review. I just read it (and posted a review/rant on my blog) and was a bit disappointed. No, sorry, angry! The whole mystery and book kept me going. IT WAS GREAT, don’t get me wrong. Then, the ending. I’m pretty sure you understand by that. I’m a ‘happily ever-after’ fan so, I have mixed feelings about this book!

Leave a Reply

