We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson

We Have Always Lived in the CastleWe Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson

Genre: Horror, Classic, Gothic
Pages: 160
Publisher: Penguin
Rating: 4.5 stars

Summary: Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.

My Opinion On The Book:

Well, let me start by saying that this book was sort of weird, but in a good way… honestly I haven’t read anything like this before, or maybe just The Giver [I’ll get back to that later].

The atmosphere in the book is very creepy all the time, the way all the town treats Merricat when she goes out of the house, being the only one doing it, how they don’t trust her and fear her and her family in a way, it felt very real, although maybe not for the right reasons. The main character is a sweet girl with a bunch of problems, some OCD, some weird thoughts that would haunt the person having them…. At the beginning of the book, she described how this person was very repetitive because they didn’t ha

The main character is a sweet girl with a bunch of problems, some OCD, some weird thoughts that would haunt the person having them…

As for the other characters of the book, my favorite was Constance, Merricat’s sister. She was such a comforting and understanding character, although her life seems very sad and meaningless. In my opinion, she was stronger than she thought.

About the rest of the characters; they felt very much on point. These characters didn’t have much development, but they had the necessary amount for them to feel real and not just there. I found only a few problems with the cousin coming to town and to this moment I’m not really sure how I feel about him after the end of the book.

The writing style isn’t something out of this world, I think it felt very natural and flowing, at moments the story was slow, but it was built strong enough for it to still be interesting even in those moments.

The only thing that stopped me from giving the book 5 stars was the fact that for me it felt as if it should have ended after chapter 9. Like, chapter 10 (the final chapter) was only for the book to have a respectful amount of pages or something. I read it, but yes, I would rather chapter 9 closing it all.

I almost forgot about The Giver vibe I got from the book.

So, The Giver is one of those books that is completely underrated, not enough people know about it and it’s such a waste because is so different from the rest of books of its genre. But that’s not the point.

My point is, in both books there’s a sort of mystery that needs to be revealed. Luckily for us these secrets are pretty obvious for us, only the characters don’t know or we don’t know they know. This creates a sort bubble we are dying to see explode and the moment it does it could go both ways; extremely great or very wrong.  In both books, it goes extremely well and you end up enjoying the reveal even though you knew the answer before.

Overall, it was a very interesting reading, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the book when I started it, but I was very happy I read it when I finished. Greatly recommended for people looking for something a little more out there, but not completely.

And so, that’s all for now! ‘Til Next Time 😉

C.

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson

Leave a Reply

