Books I did not finish | 2015 edition

Hello there! So today i’ll be talking a bit about the books -i remember- starting reading over the year and why i didn’t finished them… obviously, my opinions are  nothing more than that,  opinions. I have no intent of offending anyone or any book, for all I know you’ll find here in my list your most beloved books and will think i’m an idiot for not liking them…

Please remember, each person has their own taste in books as in all other things, the fact that  i didn’t enjoy these books (so much) doesn’t mean anything.. I just thought about sharing my experience with these books, mostly because if you felt the same maybe in the future or in my previous recommendations you may find something you’ll like and so…

I hope you enjoy the post 🙂

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1)Description [HERE]

Because I really enjoyed reading The Raven Cycle I decided to give a chance to another series by the author. By the summary I thought the story would be a nice and sweet story but after just a few chapters I couldn’t stand it. I’m not sure if it’s because of the writing style of the author which is pretty special and sometimes is a little weary and tiring or because I didn’t like the main characters. Anyway, I had to put it aside because I just couldn’t stand it any longer.

TimeRiders (TimeRiders, #1)Description [HERE]

I really enjoyed this book when i started reading it and the idea of it was great… But at some point for some reason I couldn’t concentrate on it anymore, I didn’t understand what was going on who was who and such, so I had to stop reading it, hoping one day I’ll get to pick it up again.

 

 

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)Description [HERE]

Okay, so a lot of people talks about this trilogy, everyone seems to love it and had enjoyed it. That’s the main reason I picked it up really, only I couldn’t click with it, even though the premise is one that got my eyes. I love books about people with superpowers but for me this one just wasn’t working.  Maybe it wasn’t the right time to read it though. Now, another series by the same author is coming up next year and I’ll try that, maybe after getting used to her style I’ll be able to read this book at last.

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)Description [HERE]

While waiting for the last book in The Mortal Instuments series i decided to start reading The Infernal Devices. Most of the people I know enjoyed this trilogy more than the original series, as for me, i find the love triangle of the books completely annoying and after reading the first two books and started the third one I decided I don’t really care about it… at least for now, maybe someday I’ll get back to the book, after all it’s the last one and I love the shadow world very much…

We All Looked UpDescription [HERE]

Mmm, I knew I wanted this book the moment I saw it. At first I had no idea what was it about, but after getting it I thought it would be a great reading. Only not really, I couldn’t click with the characters, they annoyed me really badly and after getting to the middle of the book I decided I didn’t care what would happen next. I’m sure though lots of people may find the book very enjoyable, and I recommend it for YA contemporary lovers, the fact that the book wasn’t for me doesn’t mean it was a bad one.

A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic, #1)Description [HERE]

So many people talk about this book and every single one loved it. Well, not everyone, I didn’t. This really annoys me, mostly because it was so difficult to get! It took me weeks and weeks to finally find and get it!  I started it before my trip to London, and maybe if I would’ve taken it with me I could have read it just because I really needed a book to read, instead I bought some and read those. I kind of feel bad for not liking this one, but really, is it that good? If it is, and you think I need to give a second chance tell me, I’m willing to give it another shot, not right now maybe, but next year for sure.

Beauty QueensDescription [HERE]

Okay, so books that include plane crashes may not be the best idea for me. But that’s not the reason I put down this book.. This was the first time I tried one of Libba Bray’s books and  I didn’t know her writing style which, apparently, I don’t like much.

 

 

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) Description [HERE]

Another book everybody loves, and one I personally am not thinking about picking up again. I’m not sure why but people seem to not notice the main character is a complete Mary Sue that can do everything and is super pretty and is an incredibly talented killer and is [spoilers], because yeah, this book is pretty obvious and I’m fairly sure I know how the series is going to end, so I figured, why bother?

 

Between the Lines Description [HERE]

I loved reading Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, so I told to myself, another book about people from books? That’ll be awesome! And though the idea is great and I enjoyed reading it, at some point I just found myself putting excuses to not read it when I had free time, so I decided to put it aside for a while and I’ll come back at some point, because I really liked it, it just wasn’t the right time.

 

We Were LiarsDescription [HERE]

This book was everywhere last year, but I never thought I’ll give it a chance, until while in London I saw it by half price and told myself “why not?” … I tried reading it, but for some reason after getting to page 15 I couldn’t keep reading, so now it’s sitting there, hoping one day I may want to read it… I just hope no one spoils the story for me before (and if) I get to it.

 

The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir who got Trapped in an Ikea Wardrobe Description [HERE]

I took this book with me to London this summer, something about the idea of me and the book sharing a journey seemed nice. Only I forgot to whom this book is, i mean,… because it’s regular fiction and not young adult, I rapidly found I couldn’t click with the characters, so I put it aside.. Maybe when i’m more into ‘regular’ fiction..

 

AfterworldsDescription [HERE]

I’ve been meaning to read this boo for ages, then I bought it when I was in London and started reading it, but I bought so many books back then .. I started reading other books and because I’m not very convinced with the author’s style I put it down once and hadn’t picked it up again since… Although the idea is super interesting and I loved the main characters, so I’m pretty sure I’ll give it another chance… maybe next year.

 

Outlander (Outlander, #1)

Description [HERE]

So many booktubers were talking about this book and the tv show I thought of giving it a chance, only to then find out it new adult fiction, which is not of my liking really, too much romance and drama for this gal.. Although Jamie was a sweetheart, it feel a little too much for me, also the book was super tiny and it was uncomfortable to read from… I thought of keep watching the show, but i didn’t either [tbh]… I can understand why so many people like it, althought not why so young gals do.. to me it felt like a book for 30-somethings. Anyway, just in case you’re interesting, the writing is wonderful, really.

Leave a Reply

