The Unfortunate Decisions Of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

Finally i get to post this review, i had it done a long while ago but i wrote it on my notebook and i kept forgetting to pass it to the blog. Anyway here it is! I got an arc of this book from NetGalley in exchange of an honest review, i already commented the book on my October Wrap Up. But here is the extended review, hope you enjoy it.

The Unfortunate Decisions Of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, YA
Pages: 320
Publisher: Redhook Books
Rating: 3.75 stars

Summary: The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them. (summary taken from NetGalley).

My opinion on the book:

Virtual gaming is becoming a huge thing these days. So many books and series are using it as the way for the stories to be told, this is one of those stories, only not exactly..

To be honest I didn’t read much of the description of the book before i started reading, it said “For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something” that’s very me so i took the chance. At the moment i didn’t know it will feature the virtual world of Zoth. If i knew i may not have picked the book at all because i find this “sub-genre” to always be pretty much the same (with only a very few exceptions). But I’m glad I didn’t know, because I ended up finding a great story.

As I already stated the book features the virtual world of Zoth, where the murdered guy used to hang out a lot, as many others and there he was part of a group called “The Horizons”. To find the stolen object, a virtual blade, Dahlia signs in the game and interacts with the players. Eventually she will have to interact with them in real life too, which i find very interesting.

The book shows how people act and are alike and different from their real selves while they are online and how the way someone pretends to be online may interfere with their daily (real) lives.

I personally found Dahalia to be a very relatable character, we are the same age and pretty much in the same position in life, so her decisions felt pretty logical to me (most of the time). Also, she is a huge geek and I would enjoy spending time with  person like her. Anyhow i felt like the rest of the characters weren’t that much developed in comparison.

Also, i would want to address  a problem i had through all the book. Because many of the characters were active both on and off line sometimes i had trouble following who was who. At one moment Dahlia decided to call one of the irl characters by his online name and it was great, but then it changed again and it was a little too messy for me.

One thing i would have like to see, if the story is already using MMORPG as a tool was more than just interacting with the players in very quite places, I think it would have been awesome if she has to play even only a little to get information or to get to talk to the other players. I think a bit more exploration of the world could have been nice.

Anyway while looking at the bigger picture, and when seeing the whole story i can say it flowed nicely enough and after a little slow and rough beginning it got pretty interesting and fun.

Overall it was an enjoyable reading. I read somewhere there may be more books (??), if so, you can be sure i’ll be here waiting for them!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s