The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

Yeah! Today i’m bringing you another booktag, in this one i’ll be answering and revealing some unpopular opinions of mine.
if you want to watch the original video for this tag you can find it HERE

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.
Okay, i might as well get over with it, there are two series that i just can’t finish, doesn’t matter how hard i tried to read them, The Infernal Devices and Throne of Glass. It’s really weird that i just can’t finish TID, because i love the shadow world so much, and actually The Mortal Instruments are one of my favorite books ever, but there’s something about the three main characters, i just can’t stand reading about them. I may be the only one in the universe that read about Will Herondale and didn’t fall in love with him. I read the two first books, and tried to get around the third, but the ending of the second one made me want to die. Although i may one day read it, it’s the shadow world after all (if only there was more Magnus). About Throne of Glass, i picked it up because everyone was so excited about those books, but as soon as i started it didn’t feel right, i don’t like the main character, whom in my opinion is a Mary Sue, she can do everything and she is a lady and she is perfect, she is THE killer for excelence and she is only 18/19 years old… yeah, okay… you enjoy the books, i’ll be reading something else.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.
Well, i think i may be the only person to have loved the Castor Chronicles. I mean, whomever i check on booktube hasn’t even finished the series, which is sad, because that last book, damn it was good. I understand though that the second book wasn’t very good, but i love the characters so i pushed through it and enjoyed the rest very much. I mean… I think is one of my favorites … I love Ethan and Lena they are one of my OTPs. Though the movie wasn’t that good.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.
I avoid love triangles like the plague, that’s the main reason i couldn’t finish reading TID, it’s just a no go for me. So, let’s talk about some NOTPs.
From the very beginning when i read The Mortal Instruments i couldn’t care less about Jace and Clary.. Yes, they are the main characters of the series, i know, but there are so many other, more interesting, characters to get invested in, it just worked out pitchie. So, no… I don’t ship them, although i like the actors in the tv show, so it may help me like them more (?)

I hope there’s good chemistry between them on the screen, the previous actors made me very skeptic about this pair, even more than the books themselves, but it may be because one of them i just can’t stand.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.
I don’t know how popular of a genre it is, but i find it difficult to reach for steampunk books, there are many that sound like great stories, but i’ll always find my way around it and decide to read something different at the moment.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
Oh, the Herondales. I mean, really why is everyone just drooling over Will, I have no idea. I prefer Lightwoods over Herondales and Magnus Bane over anything else.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
I might as well put myself on a stick and set me on fire(…). But I don’t like John Green’s books that much. I haven’t read them all, just The fault in our stars and Paper Towns (oh and Will Grayson, Will Grayson) and although tfios broke me i didn’t enjoy it as much as everyone seemed to. I do respect him as a person as i follow him on YouTube because i love him and Hank a lot, but i find all his characters pretty much the same so…

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)
Oooh, as much as i love Once Upon a Time and retelling of fairy tales i can’t stand any Alice in Wonderland retelling anymore, just cannot.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
Mmm, i think the The Lunar Chronicles. I have them on my tbr list, and they are sitting at my local bookstore, i see them everytime i go check if they have brought something interesting and each time i see there isn’t something new i tell myself, we’ll i could just buy Cinder and then I’ll go… Naah, maybe next time(…) but that time never comes around.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?
Me & Earl & The Dying Girl, when i first read the book earlier this year i could totally see the book was meant to be a movie from the beginning and i have to say that the adaptation was great, i liked it way better than the book itself.

 

One thought on “The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

Leave a Reply

